Benjamin Franklin: Programs and Events

Programs for Adults Programs for Kids & Teens Programs for Teens Ben Franklin Exhibit Home

Programs for Adults

Main
Why Louisville? – Let’s Thank Ben!
Opening Reception with Dr. Tom Owen
Wednesday, June 1, 7 PM

The Complex Legacy of Benjamin Franklin
with historian Dr. Glen Crothers
Thursday, July 7, 7 PM

Crescent Hill
Thirty-one Days with Ben!
Enjoy the proverbs of Poor Richard’s Almanac as we celebrate the tercentenary celebration of Benjamin Franklin, one of our Founding Fathers.
July 1-31st.

Adult Book Discussion
Join us to discuss The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin. Books available at Branch Circulation Desk.
Saturday, July 9, 10:30 a.m.

Booked for Lunch
Bring your sack lunch and sample “food for the mind” as we discuss Benjamin Franklin: an American Life by Walter Isaacson.
Wednesday, July 27, 1:00 p.m.

Jeffersontown
Benjamin Franklin: Man of Imagination
Wednesday, June 1, 10:15 AM
Presented by Maurice Woods, history teacher.

Programs for Kids

Main Children
4H Electricity
Thursday, June 9, 2 PM
Ages 8-11.

Ben Franklin: An Inventor Extraordinaire
Saturday, June 25, 2 PM
Ages 3-11.

Bon Air
4H Electricity
Wednesday, June 22, 2:30 PM
Learn about circuits, batteries, creating a circuit board and electromagnets. Ages 9 and up. Sign up required.

Crescent Hill
Kites & Keys
Thursday, July 21, 2:30 PM
Join us for stories and make a kite in honor of Benjamin Franklin. All ages.

Newburg
Science Club- Electricity
Thursday, July 7, 1 PM
Learn about electrical circuitry. 
Presented by the 4-H Extension Office. Ages 6-12

Okolona
Parchment Paper
Thursday, June 9, 2 PM
All ages. Call 964-3515 to register.

Go Fly a Kite
Thursday, July 14, 2 PM
Make your own kite. Call 964-3515
to register.

Portland
4H Electricity
Tuesday, June 28, 1 PM
Ages 9-16.

Southwest
Let’s Fly a Kite
Thursday, June 30, 6:30 PM
All ages.

Western
Let’s Go Fly a Kite!
Tuesday, July 19, 2 PM
Celebrate Ben Franklin and learn how to make a simple kite. Ages 5 and up.

Programs for Teens

Main
Go Fly a Kite!
Monday, June 27 - Saturday, July 2
Make an origami kite and test your knowledge on Ben Franklin.
Ages 12 - 19.

Portland
4H Electricity
Tuesday, June 28, 1 PM
Ages 9-16.

Back to Top | Back to Exhibit Home

 

Last Updated: 7/29/10