World of Minecraft at the Library

Minecraft is a video game that offers participants access to a virtual world where they can explore, create, interact, and learn. The Library’s World of Minecraft is filled with historical locations and educational games that help develop critical thinking and problem-solving skills in a safe, secure, and FUN online environment. Activities focus on specific Common Core standards in Reading, Math, and Social Studies.

World of Minecraft at the Library is for youth, ages 10-16. The sessions are free and open to the public — no license or experience necessary. Participants do not need to register, but space is limited and first come, first served. Here's a list of our upcoming sessions:


December 2014


Shawnee: Thursday, December 11 from 5 - 7 p.m.

Shawnee: Friday, December 12 from 3 - 5 p.m.

Okolona: Monday, December 22 from 2 - 4 p.m.

Southwest: Monday, December 29 from 3 - 5 p.m.

Middletown: Tuesday, December 30 from 9 - 11 a.m.


January 2015


Iroquois: Friday, January 2 from 1 - 3 p.m.

Jeffersontown: Monday, January 12 from 3 - 5 p.m.

Southwest: Saturday, Janurary 17 from 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Shawnee: Thursday, January 22 from 5 - 7 p.m.


February 2015


Jeffersontown: Monday, February 9 from 3 - 5 p.m.

Southwest: Saturday, February 14 from 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Shawnee: Thursday, February 19 from 5 - 7 p.m.

Southwest: Monday, February 23 from 6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.


This pilot project is in partnership with Jason and Crystal Hubler, award-winning teachers at Carter Elementary (Jefferson County Public Schools), and Louisville Metro Government Office of Civic Innovation.

To read more about the use of Minecraft in education, check out these articles:

Last Updated: 12/9/14