Hot Reads

Knights, Knaves and Ninjas

From east to west, old England to feudal Japan, and all points in between! These courtly tales are sure to please!
Devil's Kiss



Devil's Kiss
By Chadda, Sarwat
2010-08 - Hyperion Books
9781423120223 Check Our Catalog

Bilquis San Greal grows up knowing she will have to make sacrifices to be in the Knights Templar. Her childhood friend Kay uses King Solomon's cursed mirror, drawing the attention of one of the most dangerous of the Templars' enemies. Now Billi will have to make sacrifices greater than she'd ever imagined. …More

The Way of the Sword



The Way of the Sword
By Bradford, Chris
2010-03 - Hyperion Books
1423120256 Check Our Catalog

Jack Fletcher is shipwrecked off the coast of Japan, his beloved father and the crew lie slaughtered by ninja pirates. Rescued by a legendary master swordsman and brought under his wing, Jack begins the grueling physical and psychological training needed to become a samurai. …More

A Conspiracy of Kings



A Conspiracy of Kings
By Turner, Megan Whalen
2010-04 - Greenwillow Books
9780061870934 Check Our Catalog

2010 Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Book

In this companion to the Newbery Honor book "The Thief" and its sequels, a kidnapped prince fights to reclaim his throne and his country in a sweeping adventure of swords, wits, and subterfuge. …More

Chasing the Secret



Chasing the Secret
By Snow, Maya
2009-02 - HarperCollins
9780061243905 Check Our Catalog

The second installment in a heart-stoppingly exciting series, this tale of revenge, love, heartbreak, and girls skilled in weaponry continues. Kimi and Hana have become masters of the sword, but when their secret identities are revealed, they must flee the dojo. …More

The Road to Vengeance



The Road to Vengeance
By Roberts, Judson
2008-06 - Harper Teen
9780060813048 Check Our Catalog

Fifteen-year-old Halfdan has vowed to avenge his brother's death, but first he must prove himself to be a true Viking warrior. Roberts brings his extensive knowledge of 9th-century Norse culture to the tale of a young man on the cusp of warriorhood. …More

Starcrossed



Starcrossed
By Bunce, Elizabeth C.
2010-10 - Arthur A. Levine Books
9780545136051 Check Our Catalog

Sixteen-year-old Digger thrives as a spy and sneak-thief among the feuding religious factions of Gerse. But when a routine job goes horribly wrong and her partner and lover is killed, she disguises herself in a group of young nobles and sneaks out of the city and soon becomes a part of a rebellion. …More

Daughter of the Flames



Daughter of the Flames
By Marriott, Zoe
2009-02 - Candlewick Press (MA)
9780763637491 Check Our Catalog

Scarred and orphaned by enemy fire, 15-year-old Zira learns her true identity and fulfills her destiny, in this romantic fantasy adventure for young teens.368 pp. …More

The Girl in the Arena



The Girl in the Arena
By Haines, Lise
2009-10 - Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
1599903725 Check Our Catalog

It's a fight to the death--on live TV--when a gladiator's daughter steps into the arena

Lyn is a neo-gladiator's daughter, through and through. Her mother has made a career out of marrying into the high-profile world of televised blood sport, and the rules of the Gladiator Sports Association are second nature to their family. "Always lend ineffable confidence to the gladiator. Remind him constantly of his victories. "And most importantly: "Never leave the stadium when your father is dying." The rules help the family survive, but rules--and the GSA--can also turn against you. When a gifted young fighter kills Lyn's seventh father, he also captures Lyn's dowry bracelet, which means she must marry him... For fans of "The Hunger Games" and "Fight Club," Lise Haines' debut novel is a mesmerizing look at a world addicted to violence--a modern world that's disturbingly easy to imagine. …More

Player's Ruse



Player's Ruse
By Bell, Hilari
2010-01 - Harper Teen
006082509X Check Our Catalog

Michael, an aspiring knight errant in the spirit of Don Quixote, and Fisk, a thief turned squire, make a wonderfully quirky team in this hilarious fantasy series. …More

Blood Ninja II: The Revenge of Lord Oda



Blood Ninja II: The Revenge of Lord Oda
By Lake, Nick
2010-12 - Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
1416986294 Check Our Catalog

Now that the vile Lord Oda is dead, Taro and his friends are safe in the mountain lair of the ninjas. Or so they think. Soon, Taro, Hana, and Hiro find themselves in a trap as strange new creatures invade their lives and familiar enemies surround them. …More