Hot Reads

Myth, Magic & Imagination

Fanciful creatures, magnificent machines, and pink crystal balls fuel your thoughts and dreams.
Behemoth



Behemoth
By Westerfeld, Scott
Illustrator Thompson, Keith
2010-10 - Simon Pulse
9781416971757 Check Our Catalog

In this sequel to "Leviathan," Alek and Deryn's mission to deliver a package to Constantinople goes awry. The only way to save themselves in a hostile, politically charged city is to offer up what matters most--their airship. Illustrations. …More

Ship Breaker



Ship Breaker
By Bacigalupi, Paolo
2010-05 - Little Brown and Company
0316056219 Check Our Catalog

2011 Printz Award Winner BookPage Notable Title

A Nebula and Hugo Award-nominated author delivers a fast-paced dystopian adventure that is sure to appeal to fans of "Little Brother" and "The Hunger Games." …More

The Maze Runner



The Maze Runner
By Dashner, James
2009-10 - Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
0385907028 Check Our Catalog

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he's not alone. When the lift's doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade--a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.
Just like Thomas, the Gladers don't know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they've closed tight. And every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.
Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up--the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.
Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

"From the Hardcover edition." …More

Radiant Shadows



Radiant Shadows
By Marr, Melissa
2010-05 - HarperCollins
9780061659225 Check Our Catalog

Faery lore and mortal love entwine in the enthralling penultimate volume of Marr's "New York Times"-bestselling series Wicked Lovely. …More

The Other Side: A Teen's Guide to Ghost Hunting and the Paranormal



The Other Side: A Teen's Guide to Ghost Hunting and the Paranormal
By Gibson, Marley
Author Burns, Patrick
Author Schrader, Dave
2009-09 - Graphia Books
0547258291 Check Our Catalog

Written by three real-life ghost hunters who have more than 50 years of experience, this guide imparts their knowledge and wisdom on to the next generation of ghost hunters. It includes advice on how to set up a ghost hunting team, information on the equipment needed and how to use it, where to look for spirits, and more. …More

Twilight: The Complete Illustrated Movie Companion



Twilight: The Complete Illustrated Movie Companion
By Vaz, Mark Cotta
2008-10 - Little, Brown Young Readers
9780316043137 Check Our Catalog

Designed as a celebration of the film--opening on November 21--this lavishly illustrated paperback edition is an exclusive behind-the-scenes guide featuring full-color photos of the cast, locations, and sets, as well as storyboards, interviews, details of special effects, and more. …More

Spilling Ink: A Young Writer's Handbook



Spilling Ink: A Young Writer's Handbook
By Mazer, Anne
Author Potter, Ellen
Illustrator Phelan, Matt
2010-03 - Flash Point
1596435143 Check Our Catalog

LEARN HOW TO WRITE LIKE THE EXPERTS, FROM THE EXPERTS.  Practical advice in a perfect package for young aspiring writers. After receiving letters from fans asking for writing advice, accomplished authors Anne Mazer and Ellen Potter joined together to create this guidebook for young writers. The authors mix inspirational anecdotes with practical guidance on how to find a voice, develop characters and plot,
make revisions, and overcome writer’s block. Fun writing prompts will help young writers jump-start their own projects, and encouragement throughout will keep them at work. …More

Poetry Speaks Who I Am: Poems of Discovery, Inspiration, Independence, and Everything Else... [With CD (Audio)]



Poetry Speaks Who I Am: Poems of Discovery, Inspiration, Independence, and Everything Else... [With CD (Audio)]
By Paschen, Elise
Editor Raccah, Dominique
Editor Alexander, Elizabeth
2010-03 - Sourcebooks
9781402210747 Check Our Catalog

"Poetry Speaks Who I Am" is filled with more than 100 remarkable selections for ages 12 to 14 from a wide variety of poets. Includes an audio CD. …More

Clockwork Angel



Clockwork Angel
By Clare, Cassandra
2010-08 - Margaret K. McElderry Books
9781416975861 Check Our Catalog

BookPage Notable Title

When 16-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London's Downworld, where vampires, warlocks, and other supernatural beings stalk the gaslit streets. …More

Pegasus



Pegasus
By McKinley, Robin
2010-11 - Putnam Publishing Group
0399246770 Check Our Catalog

A "New York Times"-bestselling author and Newbery Medalist ("The Hero and the Crown") delivers a gorgeously written fantasy about the friendship between a princess and her Pegasus. …More

Incarceron



Incarceron
By Fisher, Catherine
2010-01 - Dial Books
0803733968 Check Our Catalog

BookPage Notable Title

Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells, but also metal forests, dilapidated cities, and vast wilderness. Finn, a 17-year-old prisoner, has no memory of his childhood and is sure that he came from Outside Incarceron. And then Finn finds a crystal key that allows him to communicate with a girl who claims to live on the Outside. …More

Beautiful Darkness



Beautiful Darkness
By Garcia, Kami
Author Stohl, Margaret
2010-10 - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
9780316077057 Check Our Catalog

Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he meets mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who reveals a secret world that has been hidden in plain sight all along. …More

Another Pan



Another Pan
By Nayeri, Daniel
2010-09 - Candlewick Press (MA)
9780763637125 Check Our Catalog

In this pulse-quickening sequel to "Another Faust," an ancient Egyptian spell is turning the tony Marlowe School into a sinister underworld. Will all hell break loose? …More

The Frenzy



The Frenzy
By Block, Francesca Lia
2010-10 - Harper Teen
9780061926662 Check Our Catalog

Romance is as fleeting as a full moon in this chilling werewolf love story from Block. …More

Nevermore



Nevermore
By Creagh, Kelly
2010-08 - Atheneum Books
9781442402003 Check Our Catalog

A page-turning psychological mystery that is equal parts horror, humor, and romance, "Nevermore" is the story of Varen--a Poe fan and Goth--and Isobel--a cheerleader and unlikely heroine. …More

Bruiser



Bruiser
By Shusterman, Neal
2010-07 - Harper Teen
9780061134081 Check Our Catalog

BookPage Notable Title

Award-winning author Shusterman delivers a suspenseful and chilling psychological thriller about friendship, family, and the sacrifices we make for the people we love. …More

7 Souls



7 Souls
By Miller, Barnabas
Author Orlando, Jordan
2010-07 - Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
0385736738 Check Our Catalog

Mary expected her 17th birthday to be a blowout to remember. Instead, the day starts badly and gets worse. Before the night is over, she's been killed in cold blood. But murder is just the beginning of Mary's ordeal. …More

The Secret Society of the Pink Crystal Ball



The Secret Society of the Pink Crystal Ball
By Green, Risa
2010-09 - Sourcebooks Fire
9781402241062 Check Our Catalog

The crystal ball will give you answers about love and life... but at what price?

Smart and sexy-"smexy," as termed in the novel-Risa Green's fabulously original, warm, and funny teen debut follows a trio of best friends as they navigate love, lies, school, and family-with some unlikely supernatural help. Erin inherits a plastic crystal ball and a set of cryptic instructions from her free-spirited aunt. Erin and her two best friends laughingly give it a try and discover that this particular crystal ball has an uncanny knack for being accurate-but as with all magic, it comes with limits and a price.

Risa Green brings to vivid life friendships and romance-with the perfect supernatural twist.
Praise for "Notes from the Underbelly: "
..".uproariously tart..." -"Entertainment Weekly"
"Debut fiction that's a cut above the usual chick-lit fare."-"Kirkus" …More

Magic Under Glass



Magic Under Glass
By Dolamore, Jaclyn
2009-12 - Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
1599904306 Check Our Catalog

Nimira is a music-hall girl forced to dance for pennies. When wealthy sorcerer Hollin Parry hires her to sing with a piano-playing automaton, Nimira believes it is the start of a new and better life. In Parry's world, however, buried secrets are beginning to stir. …More

My Fake Boyfriend Is Better Than Yours



My Fake Boyfriend Is Better Than Yours
By Springer, Kristina
2010-08 - Farrar Straus Giroux
9780374399108 Check Our Catalog

Tori is having major drama with her BFF Sienna. Sienna is full of stories about her dreamy new boyfriend. Tori knows she's making the guy up, so she invents her own fake boyfriend. Things go great--until everyone insists Tori and Sienna bring their boyfriends to the school dance. …More