Upcoming Events


Journalist and former White House correspondent
Marc Ambinder, author of "The Brink"

The author event with Marc Ambinder on September 25 has been canceled due to unforeseen circumstances

Marc Ambinder's new book, The Brink: President Reagan and the Nuclear War Scare of 1983, tells the incredible story of the 1983 war game that triggered a tense, brittle period of nuclear brinkmanship between the United States and the former Soviet Union.


Whitney Thornberry presents Mary and her Monsters

Carmichael's Kids presents New York Times-bestselling children’s author of the Warriors series Erin Hunter

Main Library, Tuesday, October 2, 6:30 p.m.

Set in the African savannah and told from three different animals’ points of view, Bravelands will thrill readers who love Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire, as well as the fans who’ve made Erin Hunter a #1 nationally bestselling phenomenon.

The event is free, but tickets are required - click here to order.


Carmichael's Kids presents Grammy-winning musician and author Keith Secor and award-winning illustrator Higgins Bond

Carmichael's Kids presents Grammy-winning musician and author Ketch Secor

Southwest Regional Library, Wednesday, October 3, 6:30 p.m.

Join Grammy Award-winning, founding member of Old Crow Medicine Show, Ketch Secor as he discusses his new children's book Lorraine: The Girl Who Sang the Storm Away.

The event is free - no tickets are required.


Whitney Thornberry presents Mary and her Monsters

Carmichael's Kids presents New York Times-bestselling children’s author of the How to Train Your Dragon book series Cressida Cowell

Main Library, Sunday, October 14, 2 p.m.

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes the spellbinding sequel to her latest high-adventure series -- The Wizards of Once -- set in a magical time full of wizards, warriors, giants and sprites.

The event is free, but tickets are required - click here to order.


Susan Orlean, bestselling author of "The Orchid Thief"

The Craig Buthod Author Series welcomes Susan Orlean, bestselling author of The Orchid Thief

Main Library, Monday, October 29, 7 p.m.

In her new book, Susan Orlean -- acclaimed bestselling author of Rin Tin Tin and The Orchid Thief -- reopens the unsolved mystery of the most catastrophic library fire in American history, and delivers a dazzling love letter to a beloved institution—our libraries.

The event is free, but tickets are required - click here to order.


George Mason professor and author Timothy Denevi's new book "Freak Kingdom: Hunter S. Thompson's Manic Ten-Year Crusade Against American Fascism"

George Mason professor and author Timothy Denevi

Main Library, Thursday, November 8, 7 p.m.

Hunter S. Thompson is often misremembered as a wise-cracking, drug-addled cartoon character. In the new book Freak Kingdom: Hunter S. Thompson's Manic Ten-Year Crusade Against American Fascism, professor and author Timothy Denevi attempts to reclaim Thompson for what he truly was: a fearless opponent of corruption and fascism, one who sacrificed his future well-being to fight against it, rewriting the rules of journalism and political satire in the process.

The event is free, but tickets are required - click here to order.

Authors at the Library podcast
Miss an author event, or just want to enjoy a presentation again? Listen to the podcast or Watch it online
 

The Craig Buthod Author Series - named in honor of former library director Craig Buthod - is an endowed library program that brings award-winning and New York Times bestselling authors to Louisville. Previously called Authors at the Library, the series was endowed in 2015 by donors to the Library Foundation.  To make a gift to the Craig Buthod Author Series endowment, click here.

Last Updated: 9/20/18